Where are you right now? · Step 4: Choosing a center
Kidney transplant centers in New York, New Jersey and Connecticut
Which hospitals do kidney transplants in New York, New Jersey and Connecticut?
As of October 2026, the Scientific Registry of Transplant Recipients (SRTR) lists kidney programs in New York, New Jersey and Connecticut.1
SRTR stands for Scientific Registry of Transplant Recipients.2
The waiting-list column counts registrations at each center. The age column describes the people who got transplants in the report year.3
Ask each program which ages it serves now.
New York
| Program | City | Ages reported | Waiting list | Deceased donor | Living donor | Program link | Report |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Albany Medical Center Hospital | Albany | Adults | 214 | 30 | 9 | Program page | SRTR report4 |
| Erie County Medical Center | Buffalo | Adults | 230 | 102 | 9 | Program page | SRTR report5 |
| James J. Peters VA Medical Center | Bronx | Adults | 56 | 14 | 2 | Transplant section | SRTR report6 |
| Long Island Jewish Medical Center-Cohen Children's Medical Center | Queens | Adults and children | 30 | 9 | 6 | Program page | SRTR report7 |
| Montefiore Medical Center | Bronx | Adults and children | 477 | 183 | 28 | Program page | SRTR report8 |
| Mount Sinai Medical Center | New York | Adults and children | 1,877 | 173 | 73 | Adult page Pediatric page | SRTR report9 |
| NY Presbyterian Hospital/Columbia Univ. Medical Center | New York | Adults and children | 511 | 116 | 86 | Program page | SRTR report10 |
| NYU Langone Health | New York | Adults and children | 597 | 221 | 76 | Program page | SRTR report3 |
| New York-Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medical Center | New York | Adults | 717 | 156 | 83 | Program page | SRTR report11 |
| North Shore University Hospital/Northwell Health | Manhasset | Adults | 477 | 149 | 51 | Program page | SRTR report12 |
| State University of New York Upstate Medical University | Syracuse | Adults and children | 404 | 53 | 12 | Program page | SRTR report13 |
| State University of New York, Downstate Medical Center | Brooklyn | Adults | 230 | 36 | 36 | Program page | SRTR report14 |
| Strong Memorial Hospital, University of Rochester Medical Center | Rochester | Adults and children | 439 | 77 | 48 | Program page | SRTR report15 |
| University Hospital of State University of New York at Stony Brook | Stony Brook | Adults | 316 | 47 | 14 | Program page | SRTR report16 |
| Westchester Medical Center | Valhalla | Adults and children | 369 | 55 | 15 | Program page | SRTR report17 |
New Jersey
| Program | City | Ages reported | Waiting list | Deceased donor | Living donor | Program link | Report |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hackensack University Medical Center | Hackensack | Adults and children | 578 | 238 | 58 | Program page | SRTR report18 |
| Newark Beth Israel Medical Center | Newark | No recipients reported | 4 | Not reported | Not reported | Hospital surgery page | SRTR report19 |
| Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital | New Brunswick | Adults and children | 463 | 70 | 14 | Program page | SRTR report20 |
| Saint Barnabas Medical Center (Cooperman Barnabas Medical Center) | Livingston | Adults and children | 1,077 | 291 | 79 | Program page | SRTR report2122 |
| Virtua Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital | Camden | Adults | 312 | 92 | 9 | Program page | SRTR report23 |
SRTR says Newark Beth Israel Medical Center did not perform kidney transplants in 2025.19
Connecticut
| Program | City | Ages reported | Waiting list | Deceased donor | Living donor | Program link | Report |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hartford Hospital | Hartford | Adults and children | 370 | 56 | 44 | Program page | SRTR report24 |
| Yale New Haven Hospital | New Haven | Adults and children | 668 | 77 | 32 | Program page | SRTR report25 |
Sources
- SRTR. Transplant Center Search. Regional records in the live search response. Checked October 30, 2026.
- SRTR. FAQs. About SRTR. Checked October 30, 2026.
- SRTR. SRTR Program-Specific Report. Table B1: Waiting List Registrations; C1D/C1L: recipient characteristics. Header; Tables B1, C1D and C1L. Header; Tables B1, C1D and C1L; July 7, 2026 release. Checked October 30, 2026.
- SRTR. SRTR Program-Specific Report. Header; Tables B1, C1D and C1L; July 7, 2026 release. Checked October 30, 2026.
- SRTR. SRTR Program-Specific Report. Header; Tables B1, C1D and C1L; July 7, 2026 release. Checked October 30, 2026.
- SRTR. SRTR Program-Specific Report. Header; Tables B1, C1D and C1L; July 7, 2026 release. Checked October 30, 2026.
- SRTR. SRTR Program-Specific Report. Header; Tables B1, C1D and C1L; July 7, 2026 release. Checked October 30, 2026.
- SRTR. SRTR Program-Specific Report. Header; Tables B1, C1D and C1L; July 7, 2026 release. Checked October 30, 2026.
- SRTR. SRTR Program-Specific Report. Header; Tables B1, C1D and C1L; July 7, 2026 release. Checked October 30, 2026.
- SRTR. SRTR Program-Specific Report. Header; Tables B1, C1D and C1L; July 7, 2026 release. Checked October 30, 2026.
- SRTR. SRTR Program-Specific Report. Header; Tables B1, C1D and C1L; July 7, 2026 release. Checked October 30, 2026.
- SRTR. SRTR Program-Specific Report. Header; Tables B1, C1D and C1L; July 7, 2026 release. Checked October 30, 2026.
- SRTR. SRTR Program-Specific Report. Header; Tables B1, C1D and C1L; July 7, 2026 release. Checked October 30, 2026.
- SRTR. SRTR Program-Specific Report. Header; Tables B1, C1D and C1L; July 7, 2026 release. Checked October 30, 2026.
- SRTR. SRTR Program-Specific Report. Header; Tables B1, C1D and C1L; July 7, 2026 release. Checked October 30, 2026.
- SRTR. SRTR Program-Specific Report. Header; Tables B1, C1D and C1L; July 7, 2026 release. Checked October 30, 2026.
- SRTR. SRTR Program-Specific Report. Header; Tables B1, C1D and C1L; July 7, 2026 release. Checked October 30, 2026.
- SRTR. SRTR Program-Specific Report. Header; Tables B1, C1D and C1L; July 7, 2026 release. Checked October 30, 2026.
- SRTR. SRTR Program-Specific Report. Header; Tables B1, C1D and C1L; July 7, 2026 release. Tables C1D and C1L, printed pages 15–16; January 1–December 31, 2025. Checked October 30, 2026.
- SRTR. SRTR Program-Specific Report. Header; Tables B1, C1D and C1L; July 7, 2026 release. Checked October 30, 2026.
- SRTR. SRTR Program-Specific Report. Header; Tables B1, C1D and C1L; July 7, 2026 release. Checked October 30, 2026.
- RWJBarnabas Health. Cooperman Barnabas Medical Center: Our History. Welcome line: former Saint Barnabas name. Checked October 30, 2026.
- SRTR. SRTR Program-Specific Report. Header; Tables B1, C1D and C1L; July 7, 2026 release. Checked October 30, 2026.
- SRTR. SRTR Program-Specific Report. Header; Tables B1, C1D and C1L; July 7, 2026 release. Checked October 30, 2026.
- SRTR. SRTR Program-Specific Report. Header; Tables B1, C1D and C1L; July 7, 2026 release. Checked October 30, 2026.
Page facts
Written by the TransplantCheck team.
Facts checked against official sources on October 30, 2026.
Changes
- October 30, 2026: first version, as Transplant centers.
- November 2, 2026: moved here, under step 4. Its questions moved to the step 4 page.